Presentation

« The overall ensemble is nothing less than first class »

International Trumpet Guild

Like the famous Swiss army knife, the Geneva Brass Quintet is a multi-purpose, multi-talented chamber music group. Its marvellously warm sound is equally good when sharply rendering a Bach fugue as when sweetly murmuring a Cosma ballad or a traditional Alphorn melody. The Quintet can be both powerful, when playing alongside an organ, big band or wind section, and full of sweetness, when accompanying a choir, panpipes or even a harp. The ensemble also likes to join forces with other disciplines, such as history or science, and children are not forgotten: two shows have already been created especially for them.

The Geneva Brass Quintet is an ardent supporter of Swiss culture and regularly includes works by Swiss composers in its programmes, such as Jean-François Michel, Étienne Crausaz or Daniel Schnyder. It regularly commissions new pieces to expand its repertoire: for example, a new commission from Richard Dubugnon for the 2019–20 season.

The ensemble wishes to present this original repertoire during its frequent international tours, thus positioning itself as one of the leading Swiss ambassadors of chamber music for brass. In particular, it has been invited to the Cervantino Festival (Mexico), to SliderAsia (Hong Kong), Jeju International Wind Ensemble Festival (South Korea) and to the Brassurround Festival (Spain).

At ease in all fields, the quintet has performed in all sorts of circumstances: on a boat on the underground lake of Saint-Léonard, with their feet in the water at the Bains des Pâquis in Geneva, in shanty towns in South Africa and on the Great Wall of China, but they have also performed in the world’s most beautiful concert halls, such as Geneva’s Victoria Hall.

Created in 2001, all the Geneva Brass Quintet’s musicians hold master’s degrees from the Geneva University of Music. They participate in the organisation of the Geneva Brass Festival, an international event dedicated to brass which has taken place in Geneva every year since 2010. Regularly invited to Espace 2 radio station’s Schubertiade, the Quintet has recorded three discs which reflect its character: eclectic. These have been very well received by the critics.

Vorstellung

« The overall ensemble is nothing less than first class »

International Trumpet Guild

Wie das berühmte Schweizer Taschenmesser ist das Geneva Brass Quintet ein Kammermusikensemble mit vielen Talenten. Sein herzlicher, ausdrucksvoller Klang eignet sich gleichermaßen für die ziselierten Töne einer Bach-Fuge, das sanfte Murmeln einer Cosma-Ballade oder die traditionelle Melodie eines Alphorns. Es weiß, wie man kraftvoll einer Orgel, einer Big-Band oder einer Harmonie die Replik gibt, aber auch, wie man ganz sanft einen Chor, eine Panflöte und sogar eine Harfe begleitet. Aber auch mit anderen Disziplinen wie Geschichte oder Naturwissenschaften verbindet sich das Ensemble gerne. Ganz zu schweigen von den Kindern, für die es bereits zwei Veranstaltungen kreiert hat.

Das Geneva Brass Quintet ist ein leidenschaftlicher Verfechter der Schweizer Kultur und nimmt regelmäßig Werke von Schweizer Komponisten wie Jean-François Michel, Étienne Crausaz und Daniel Schnyder in sein Programm auf. Zur Erweiterung seines Repertoires gibt es regelmäßig neue Stücke in Auftrag. Dies bezeugt ein neuer Auftrag an Richard Dubugnon für die Saison 2019-20.

Dem Ensemble liegt daran, dieses originelle Repertoire auf seinen zahlreichen internationalen Tourneen zu präsentieren, und es gilt dadurch als einer der führenden Schweizer Botschafter der Kammermusik für Blechblasinstrumente. Es wurde insbesondere zu den Festivals Cervantino (Mexiko), SliderAsia (Hongkong), Jeju International Wind Ensemble Festival (Südkorea) und Brassurround (Spanien) eingeladen.

Das Quintett, das sich auf jedem Terrain wohl fühlt, hat unter verschiedenen Umständen gespielt: auf einer Gondel auf dem unterirdischen See Sankt-Leonard, mit den Beinen im Genfersee in der Genfer Badeanstalt Bains des Pâquis, in südafrikanischen Slums, auf der Chinesischen Mauer, aber auch in den schönsten Konzertsälen, wie der Victoria Hall in Genf.

Das 2001 gegründete Geneva Brass Quintet vereint Musiker, die alle einen Master-Abschluss der Musikhochschule Genf besitzen. Es ist an der Organisation des Geneva Brass Festival beteiligt, einer internationalen Veranstaltung, die den Blechblasinstrumenten gewidmet ist und seit 2010 jedes Jahr in Genf stattfindet. Regelmäßig zur Schubertiade von Espace 2 eingeladen, hat es drei CDs aufgenommen, die es gut beschreiben: eklektisch. Sie wurden von Kritikern besonders gelobt.