Presentation

Established in 2001, the Geneva Brass Quintet is a chamber music group of Swiss musicians. After studying at the Geneva Conservatory, they all graduated with a Master of Music. Eager to create a close-knit musical unit and being particularly attracted to chamber music, they formed the ‘Geneva Brass Quintet’ (GBQ) with the aim of sharing their passion with the public.Well-known in Switzerland, the GBQ has already performed at the Sion Festival, St-Germain concerts in Geneva and the “Guilde romande de la musique de chambre” (French-speaking Chamber Music Guild), as well as at prestigious venues such as the Victoria Hall and Saint Peter’s Cathedral in Geneva. The Geneva Brass Quintet regularly plays for various Swiss radios and has also been invited many times to the Espace 2 (Swiss radio) “Schubertiades”.

In 2008, the GBQ started an international career with an extensive tour in South Africa. After this, they received an invitation to the festival “Cuivres en Dombes” and to the Mégève festival and embarked on another extensive tour in China and a concert in Dubaï in 2011. In 2012, the Cervantino Festival, for its 40th anniversary, invited the GBQ to perform 10 concerts across Mexico.

The first GBQ CD, “Brass@ge”, released by VDE Gallo, received excellent reviews in Switzerland and abroad. In 2013, the GBQ published a second CD “GBQ & Friends” along with other musicians : panflute, organ, soprano and choir. Indeed, in addition to numerous recitals, the group opens up to fruitful collaborations, many of which have already been noticed : series of concerts with the Sinfonietta of Lausanne, the Polhymnia choir or the Wind Band of Lausanne.

The GBQ repertoire is extremely eclectic in style and period. It also emphasises Swiss composers, many of whom have written pieces specifically for the GBQ.

Finally, each year in October, the GBQ organises the Geneva Brass Festival, an international event dedicated to brass which takes place in Geneva.

Présentation

Créé en 2001, le Geneva Brass Quintet (GBQ) est une formation de musique de chambre constituée de musiciens suisses. Tous détenteurs dʼun Master à la Haute Ecole de Musique de Genève, ils ont choisi la formation du quintette de cuivres pour partager leur passion de la musique dʼensemble, et pour transmettre au public leur enthousiasme.Habitué de la scène suisse, le GBQ sʼest déjà produit dans plusieurs séries de concerts, telles que le Festival de Sion, les Concerts de St-Germain ou la Guilde romande de la musique de chambre. De prestigieuses salles lʼont accueilli, comme le Victoria Hall, la Cathédrale St-Pierre de Genève ou l’Abbatiale de Romainmôtier. Le Geneva Brass Quintet participe régulièrement à des émissions radiophoniques. Il est désormais un habitué de La Schubertiade dʼEspace 2.

En 2008, le GBQ débute une carrière internationale, avec une grande tournée en Afrique du Sud. Ont suivi plusieurs invitations au Festival de Cuivres en Dombes, au Festival de Megève, ainsi quʼune autre grande tournée en Chine et un concert à Dubaï en 2011. En octobre 2012, le festival Cervantino a convié le GBQ pour sa quarantième édition : il y eut 10 concerts à travers tout le Mexique. En 2014 et 2015, le GBQ participe au festival SliderAsia à Hong Kong avant de se rendre en 2016 au Jeju International Wind Ensemble festival en Corée du Sud.

Le premier CD du quintette, « Brass@ge », est sorti chez Vde Gallo en 2009. Il a recueilli dʼexcellentes critiques en Suisse et à lʼétranger. En 2013, le GBQ a publié un second opus « GBQ & Friends » en sʼassociant avec dʼautres musiciens : flûte de pan, orgue, soprano et choeur. En plus de nombreux récitals, lʼensemble sʼouvre en effet à des collaborations fructueuses, dont plusieurs ont déjà été remarquées : séries de concerts avec le Sinfonietta de Lausanne, le choeur Polhymnia ou lʼHarmonie lausannoise.

Le répertoire du Geneva Brass Quintet se veut ainsi très éclectique, dans les styles et les époques. Il affiche aussi la volonté de promouvoir les compositeurs suisses : dʼailleurs plusieurs dʼentre eux ont écrit spécifiquement pour le GBQ.

Enfin, depuis 2010, le GBQ organise chaque année, en octobre, le Geneva Brass Festival, événement international dédié aux cuivres, et qui se déroule à Genève.

Consulter la plaquette du Geneva Brass Quintet.